

College of Engineering Trivandrum (CET)

Organizes

Faculty Empowerment Program 2022
On

RESEARCH LEADING THE INSTITUTION TO EXCELLENCE

9th August to 12th August 2022

Venue: CETAA HALL

Sponsored by

Directorate of Technical Education

Government of Kerala

Dear Sir/Madam

College of Engineering Trivandrum (CET) organizes a four day long *Faculty Empowerment Programme 2022* on *Research Leading the Institution to Excellence* from 9th August to 12th August 2022. The programme is sponsored by Directorate of Technical Education, Government of Kerala. The programme is intended to promote research among the young faculty of the institution. This aims at empowering the faculty by imparting them with knowledge, skills and practice to become agents of change. Research leading the institution to excellence means institutional excellence through individual excellence. Role of research in an academic institution is significant for its sustainability and development, and it is imperative to have knowledge-driven growth based on innovation. High quality research, producing reliable results and contributing to the status of knowledge and science provides overall benefit to students and society. Research provides educators with valuable information about how students learn best so they can be more effective teachers. It is mandatory for faculty members of age below 40 to attend this program. Other interested faculty members can also attend.

All are cordially invited

Dr. Vinod B. R.

Course Co-Coordinator Associate Professor Department of Electronics and Communication Dr. Rani Pavithran

Course Co-ordinator
Head, Dept. of Chemistry

Dr. Suresh Babu V.

Principal, CET

Faculty Empowerment Programme 2022 RESEARCH LEADING THE INSTITUTION TO EXCELLENCE

9th August to 12th August 2022

Day 1 9th August 2022

9:15 a.m. to 9: 30 a.m. - Registration

9:30 a.m. to 11: 00 a.m. Session 1 11:15 a.m. to 12: 45 p.m. Session 2

2:15 p.m. Inauguration

Welcome Speech Dr. Rani Pavithran, Course Coordinator

Presidential Address Dr. Suresh Babu V., Principal, CET



Inauguration and Keynote Address

Dr. V.P. Joy IAS, Chief Secretary, Government of Kerala



Vote of Thanks Dr. M. Abdul Nizar, Dean, UG

Programme Schedule

9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m Dr. Kuruvilla Joseph, Outstanding Professor and Dean, IIST

Exploring the Dimensions of Quality Teaching and Research



11:15 p.m.–12.45 p.m. Dr. M. R. Baiju, Member, Public Service Commission, Kerala

Boundaries,
Binaries and
Beyond: A few
Cross-sectional
perspectives of
History and Society



Day 2

10th August 2022

9:30 a.m.- 11:00 a.m

Dr. K.P. Sudheer, Executive Vice President, KSCSTE

Opportunities in Science and Technology



11:15 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.

Dr. K. Gopakumar, Professor, IISc Bangalore

On How To Go About In Research



1:30 p.m. -3:00 p.m

Dr. Amar Fettle, State Nodal Officer, Adolescent Health & Public Health Emergency, Government of Kerala

Wellness Management of Youth and Teens



3:15 p.m. – 4.45 p.m.

Dr. Jiju P. Alex, Member, Planning Board, Kerala

Outreach and Extension



Day 3

11th August 2022

9:30 a.m.- 11:00 a.m

Dr. Deepak Rajendraprasad, Associate Professor, IIT Palakkad

Mathematical Lens and Programming Hammer



11:15 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.

Dr. Birenjith P. S., Associate Professor, GEC Barton Hill

Mathematical Lens and Programming Hammer



1:30 p.m. -3:00 p.m

Dr. Saji Gopinath, Vice Chancellor, Digital University of Kerala

Translational Research



3:15 p.m. – 4.45 p.m. Dr. L. Umanand, Professor, IISc Bangalore

Effectiveness of Online Teaching (online)



Day 4

12th August 2022

9:30 a.m.- 11:00 a.m

'Knimbus' Digital Library Platform

Sri. Karthikeyan K., Senior Regional Manager, Knimbus Online Pvt. Ltd. Library

11:15 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.

Sri. Jayaraj P. K., Assistant Excise Commissioner, Thiruvananthapuram

Students and Substance Abuse



1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m

Mr. Robin Tommy, Head, Rapid Lab, TCS Research and Innovations

Upcoming Trends in IT Education



3:15 p.m. – 4.45 p.m.

Valedictory Function

Welcome Speech Dr. Vinod B.R., Course Co-Coordinator

Presidential Address Dr. Suresh Babu V., Principal CET

Inauguration of Valedictory Function & Valedictory Address

Dr. Rajasree M.S., Vice Chancellor, APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University

Shaala: Nurturing Creative Ecosystems for Innovation and Research



Feedback from participants

Vote of thanks: Dr. Rani Pavithran, Course Coordinator

Organizing Committee:

Dr. Suresh Babu V., Principal, CET

Dr. Rani Pavithran, Head, Department of Chemistry (Course Coordinator)

Dr. Vinod B. R, Associate Professor, Dept. of Electronics and Communication (Course Co-Coordinator)

Dr. Bringle C Das, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Chemistry

Dr. Anusha S. P. Asst. Prof., Dept. of Civil Engineering

Mr. Ramu Rajendran, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

Mr. Arun B. S., Asst. Prof., Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

Ms. Vijayasree G., Asst. Prof., Dept. of Electrical Engineering

Ms. Thara R. J., Asst. Prof., Dept. of Computer Science

Ms. Rini Vijayan (Research Scholar) - Dept. of Computer Science

Ms. Roshini K. V., Asst. Prof., Dept. of Architecture

Ms. Parvathy U., Asst. Prof., Dept. of Civil Engineering

Ms. Anu George, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Electronics and Communication

Ms. Seema S. Asst. Prof., MBA

Ms. Jinsmol Janardanan, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Mathematics

Ms. Smitha K.S., Asst. Prof., Dept. of Electrical Engineering